UFC 152: Jon Jones vs. Vitor Belfort Extended Preview

In a video courtesy of UFC.com, Light Heavyweight champion Jon Jones explains his philosophy heading into his UFC 152 bout with the legendary Vitor Belfort, believing that fighting is much more of a mental game than most would believe. Instead of focusing on strength, Jones recognizes the state of mind his opponenet is in, becoming a sort of cerebral assasin.

Belfort, on the other hand, focuses on his great speed and names it a key aspect for any fighter who is to have a chance to dethrone the dominant champion that Jones is. Moving on, Demetrious Johnson and Joseph Benavidez discuss their bout for the inaugural UFC Flyweight championship belt. Rounding out the video, Michael Bisping appears to talk his usual trash while his opponent Brian Stann states that he would prefer to have his fists do the talking instead. A great preview of a card that came together with quite unforeseen circumstances.

Fight Card:

Jon Jones vs. Vitor Belfort
Joseph Benavidez vs. Demetrious Johnson
Michael Bisping vs. Brian Stann
Evan Dunham vs. T.J. Grant
Matt Hamill vs. Roger Hollett
Charles Oliveira vs. Cub Swanson

Vinny Magalhaes vs. Igor Pokrajac
Dan Miller vs. Sean Pierson
Marcus Brimage vs. Jim Hettes
Seth Baczynski vs. Simeon Thoresen
Mitch Gagnon vs. Walel Watson


27 Comments

  1. Profile photo of kickassfast

    kickassfast

    September 16, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    niceeee. jones is gonna take a nap.

  2. Profile photo of darejz00

    darejz00

    September 17, 2012 at 12:15 am

    Not a fan of Jones, but the way he out strikes his opponents is amazing. His reach advantage is obviously one of the main reasons he manages to do so, it’s like fighting someone with a stick.

    Anyone who has sparred with a way taller dude knows how ****ing frustrating it is when you’re taking hits here and there but can’t land any of your own.

    Then again Vitor has the speed and explosiveness to get in striking range, with solid power to knock your chin to the motherland. I also think Jones needs some humbling.

    Hence, I bet and pray for Vitor in this one.

  3. Profile photo of MD777

    MD777

    September 17, 2012 at 1:12 am

    Jones and Stan go war

  4. Profile photo of grapplure

    grapplure

    September 17, 2012 at 1:41 am

    round one KO

  5. Profile photo of KeithFarrell

    KeithFarrell

    September 17, 2012 at 2:12 am

    Big time Bones fan, sticking with him through this mess just like any fan should.
    Vitor is a legend and still a top 5 MW but Jones is on another level, including weight class.

    Jones by perfection.

  6. Profile photo of UnderdogGreatness

    UnderdogGreatness

    September 17, 2012 at 2:21 am

    Jones takes this one easily.

  7. Profile photo of toxic

    toxic

    September 17, 2012 at 2:29 am

    jones just steam rolled some Big names in the division and now Vitor the MW comes up with his explosiveness to take Jon out, well I wanna see that happen but it wont…
    Jones is mentally very strong but so is Dan Henderson so to bad that the fight didnt happen…
    that one would have at least been competetive…

  8. Profile photo of Brasil

    Brasil

    September 17, 2012 at 2:37 am

    I am a Jones fan so wont be so mad if he wins….but how nice would it be to see one of the old guys on top again against such hard odds.

  9. Profile photo of mofocool

    mofocool

    September 17, 2012 at 5:24 am

    What a funny picture..with Vitor`s little jhonson and Jones little joseph ..lol

  10. Profile photo of spiderp4p

    spiderp4p

    September 17, 2012 at 6:55 am

    “I want to unload on his face” lol

  11. Profile photo of gm1

    gm1

    September 17, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Bones will set up the timing as Vitor tries to come inside to blaze..
    Unfortunately Vitor will get caught coming in just as Machida did…
    Then hell and fury will follow…and so much for Vitor….

    next stop…Hendo…

  12. Profile photo of Jack N. Meoff

    Jack N. Meoff

    September 17, 2012 at 9:12 am

    Vitor really is so fast and has vicious KO power. I think If he doesn’t respect Jones too much, comes in their straight away and closes the distance, he has the speed and power to catch Jones and put him down.

    He can’t fool around in their and let Jones get into a comfortable rhythm, and obviously he doesn’t want to be on the outside. But if he gets in there and closes the distance and takes care of business, he’s got the speed and power to win this.

  13. Profile photo of mindkontrolle

    mindkontrolle

    September 17, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    Is it crazy that I think that Vitor is gonna win?

  14. Profile photo of mindkontrolle

    mindkontrolle

    September 17, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    ****ing hilarious with that accent, not even realizing how gay that sounds, he has no clue. Lol.

  15. Profile photo of ogobska

    ogobska

    September 17, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    agree, when i saw jones in the first few minutes wow i thought he was a heavyweight.

  16. Profile photo of jmedno5891

    jmedno5891

    September 17, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    I would say so, Best case scenario is that he might catch jones, but the chances of vitor pulling off some sort of 5 round convincing win is slim imo. Unless Vitor catches him early in the first, I can see it being a real frustrating night for him.

  17. Profile photo of thexperience1

    thexperience1

    September 17, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    I think Vitor’s being underestimated… I can see him pull this off. Bones better be on his shit cause Vitor is 3x faster and has vicious knock out powerin BOTH hands! Also Vitor’s Jitzz is LEGIT!! He’s a GRACIE blackbelt, so even if Jones takes him down he might run into some problems. If he doesn’t ground and pound him out right away he might get caught in a sub!

  18. Profile photo of highkick12

    highkick12

    September 17, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    This looks like a great card and I can see any one in the top 3 fights winning. Vitor has a better chance than Rampage and Rashad had against Jones.

  19. Profile photo of thexperience1

    thexperience1

    September 17, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    No.. its crazy to just “assume” Jones will….. like most do.

  20. Profile photo of mofocool

    mofocool

    September 17, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    Judging from the picture Vitor with his very fast hands is gonna introduce lil jhonson in Jones arse and lil joseph is gonna be very happy because of that.. :)))

  21. Profile photo of mindkontrolle

    mindkontrolle

    September 17, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    I agree.

  22. Profile photo of johndo11

    johndo11

    September 17, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    I hope jones gets ktfo. The guy is so fake. He always praises Jesus but gets caught drink driving with 2 girls in his car.

    The UFC stick with him, but he
    Lets them down by not taking a fight, even though he’s just come off A full camp, and it’s against a middleweight. Ungreatful in my opinion.

    Hell of a talented fighter but being a great champ goes beyond that and he doesn’t have it.

  23. Profile photo of whitemare

    whitemare

    September 17, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    haha jones beard looks alot like my pubes

  24. Profile photo of whitemare

    whitemare

    September 17, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    and haha at bisping saying he wants to unload on his face hahaha

  25. Profile photo of johndo11

    johndo11

    September 18, 2012 at 12:12 am

    I actually kinda makes sense in the UK. Not as gay as it sounds

  26. Profile photo of jmedno5891

    jmedno5891

    September 18, 2012 at 2:53 am

    I didn’t realize vitor was top 3 lhw, I need to keep up with the rankings

  27. Profile photo of mindkontrolle

    mindkontrolle

    September 18, 2012 at 4:27 am

    Can’t you see that Jesus is involved now? Who gives a fvck about rankings.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply