Warrior: Sneak Preview on Sunday September 4

The MMA based film Warrior is set for a full theatrical release on Friday September 9. However, on Sunday, September 4, Lionsgate will offer a sneak preview in theaters nationwide at 7 p.m.

Film synposis: Haunted by a tragic past, Marine Tommy Conlon (Tom Hardy) returns home for the first time in fourteen years to enlist the help of his father (Nick Nolte) to train for SPARTA, the biggest winner-takes-all event in mixed martial arts history. A former wrestling prodigy, Tommy blazes a path toward the championship while his brother, Brendan (Joel Edgerton), an ex-fighter-turned teacher, returns to the ring in a desperate bid to save his family from financial ruin. But when Brendan’s unlikely, underdog rise sets him on a collision course with the unstoppable Tommy, the two brothers must finally confront each other and the forces that pulled them apart, facing off in the most soaring, soul stirring, and unforgettable climax that must be seen to be believed. - for more visit the Warrior film homepage.


9 Comments

  1. Profile photo of Joey Santosus

    Joey Santosus

    September 4, 2011 at 5:42 am

    I’ve always known that it was just a matter of time before there was an attempt at MMA’s version of Rocky or something of this nature. Obviously I’ve not yet seen this, so I can’t say for sure if this is that, but it appears as if it may be. Watching this preview does inspire a couple thoughts tho. For one, I hope that “highly uncommon in MMA” powerbomb that looked straight out of the pro-wrestling handbook isn’t a sign that they have wrongly portrayed the sport as something it’s not. The other thing is that if this is a tournament, why would they tell us in the preview who ends up fighting for the Championship? The two brothers? Is this supposed to be Nick and Nate Diaz? lol kidding… I’ll definitely catch this one in the theater.

  2. Profile photo of doomsdayapex

    doomsdayapex

    September 4, 2011 at 6:24 am

    I recently got a sneak peek at Warrior about three weeks ago thanks to the one and only Tom Hardy. He hooked me up while I was working with him on set of The Dark Knight Rises (Great Guy!)

    … And I gotta say WOW! This film is legit. I mean, you have to look the other way when coming to items such as that powerbomb and the fact that fighters don’t appear to fatigue, but other those little flaws, the film is downright emotional and inspiring. Hardy, Nolte, and Edgerton put on fantastic performances. I found this movie to be 5x better than The Fighter. I’ll be shocked if Tom Hardy isn’t nominated for an Oscar.

    Trust me, I’ll be the first in line to catch this film on Sept. 9th.

    Check out the clip “200 Bucks”:

    http://www.traileraddict.com/tags/warrior

  3. Profile photo of Trent Reinsmith

    Trent Reinsmith

    September 4, 2011 at 7:11 am

    It’s made by the folks that made “Miracle” which I thought was one of the few hockey movies that got things right, so I do hold out hopes that this film will deliver.

  4. Profile photo of Joey Santosus

    Joey Santosus

    September 4, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Thanks! That’s good to hear. I wasn’t trying to come across too critical, it was just a couple observations. Obviously, as hardcore MMA fans we all have our fingers crossed ahead of this film. There is a lot to be gained with a successful feature film based on the sport. As I mentioned before, I’ll definitely make time to catch this one on the big screen.

  5. Profile photo of doomsdayapex

    doomsdayapex

    September 4, 2011 at 7:54 am

    It’s understandable. The first time I saw the trailer, I was completely turned off by the powerbomb and the brother-vs-brother angle. I wasn’t going to give the film a shot. Okay, I’m lying. As a huge Batman fan, I had to catch what Tom Hardy was going to dish out. I considered it as a preview for next summer… but I’m man enough to know when to admit fault.

    I talked to Hardy about his experience in training in Mixed Martial Arts. He said (and these are his exact words): “Holy f**king s**t man, that sport is brutal! I got so much respect for those guys who do that for a living. I ain’t man enough to fight those dudes. I got a vagina compared to those who actually compete! I think I would cry if I had to actually had to fight.”

    The entire cast took the sport seriously. They trained day and night in real MMA gyms across the country for 6-8 months. One extra broke his neck while filming a fight scene, and didn’t know until he had a broken neck until they wrapped up shooting for the day around 2am.

    Trust me, I was highly cynical and critical, and this film won me over in every aspect.

  6. Profile photo of doomsdayapex

    doomsdayapex

    September 4, 2011 at 7:58 am

    I’m surprised the director hasn’t made more films. I think he only has about 4 or 5 films under his belt, which is damn odd.

  7. Profile photo of RabbitPuncher

    RabbitPuncher

    September 4, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Every now and then the main guy looked like a ringer for Matt Hughes. “Miracle” was a good flick. Nick Nolte def lends some cred to this film. Glad it’s not some MTV production. I can see where in MMA they gathered ideas for this character. War hero – Brian Stann. Teacher – Rich Franklin. MMA brothers – The Shamrocks. Not saying they did, but it is possible. Think I will be checking this one out for sure.

  8. Profile photo of doomsdayapex

    doomsdayapex

    September 4, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Brian Stann wasn’t around the MMA scene when they filmed this movie. Warrior has been in post-production since mid-2009. The whole War-Hero thing was simply made up for entertainment purposes, in my humble opinion.

  9. Profile photo of JiuJitsuBBQ

    JiuJitsuBBQ

    September 10, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Can’t wait for this film. Tom Hardy is one of the better actors of his generation and is really developing an impressive resume. His performance in Bronson is criminally underrated.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply